Tēnā koutou katoa!

It’s great to read the bios of the Skritter team, but I’m surprised no one else has posted an introduction yet! I’d like to start the ball rolling.

I’m a Kiwi/Canadian (hence the Maori greeting in subject), and have been living in China since May 2012. At university in New Zealand I studied Chinese language, Linguistics, and Second Language Education. After completing the CELTA, I immediately applied for an English teaching job in the Northeast of China, and then spent a month hitchhiking and hiking around New Zealand’s South Island while having the paperwork sorted out.

I lived and taught at two institutions in Jilin province, and used every day of holiday travelling within China. I’m currently studying Chinese language full-time (8:00am to 12:00 noon), while teaching at both a university (1:30pm to 3:30/5:30pm) and a business English training school (6:00pm to 9:00pm + weekends) in Qingdao. Typically this involves 61 hours of class per week, so it can sometimes be hard to find time for Skritter! Let’s just say I like to keep myself busy. I used to have hobbies like marathon running, mountain biking, ocean swimming, and martial arts, but I don’t have time for a life at the moment. I have one final semester at university before I can enjoy some free time and days off again.