Switching from Traditional to Simplified

So, I’m stuck!

I’ve been studying Chinese using Skritter for the last 2 years. I study Traditional Chinese. I’ve been really good with it, starting at about 15 minutes/day for the first 6 months, I moved to a pretty consistent 1 hour/day from months 6 to 23. In the past month, I’ve tried to drop back down to 30 minutes and have had to turn off adding new words because my backlog is just too large.

I get a pretty average 85% success rate every day, but it seems like I’m always working on the same set of ‘leeches’ that I just can’t seem to get stuck into my head no matter how hard I try. I try to manage these by banning writing for words/chars I’ve spent +20 minutes writing, and then banning the whole word for things i’ve spent +10 minutes learning to tone, read, or describe.

This seemed like a good idea at first, but out of 3700 words I “know” now, I have hundreds of banned words. Some I really just don’t need to know, but others I really would like to know but just can’t seem to.

Basically, it seems like my backlog is unmanageable with my current time plan. If I go back to putting an hour a day into Skritter, I can probably start picking up new words again but the fact that I’m just doing the same stuff over and over again is really demoralising.

So I’m thinking of resetting and starting again with Simplified characters. Before I do, I wanted to ask other people in the forum if they’ve had a similar experience? Maybe my frustrations are unique, or maybe they’re common and someone else out there has found a better way?

If I may, please let me ask you:

What is your average daily retention rate? Is 85% poor, or is it normal?
How quickly do you choose to ban a word? How big is your ban list? I have 600 banned words for 3700 known words, is that normal?
Have you switched from Traditional to Simplified successfully? If so, how?